City Council

The Umatilla City Council is comprised of five city residents elected at large during municipal elections held on even numbered years. The Lake County Supervisor of Elections Office runs the city election in tandem with County, State, and Federal elections. The term of office is four (4) years.

In November 2012, the city voters approved a referendum question (Resolution 2012-15) placing term limits of twelve (12) consecutive years or three (3) terms upon the elected office of Council member.

The next election for municipal office will be held on November 2, 2022 for Council Seats 4 and 5, currently held by Kent Adcock and Katherine Adams. The candidate qualifying period for that election will be announced in early 2022. If you have questions please call City Clerk Gwen Johns at (352) 669-3125 or click here to email.

Candidate Requirements

  • Candidates must be at least 18 years of age
  • A registered voter of the City of Umatilla
  • A continuous resident for at least one (1) year prior to the date of the election

Terms for City Council Seats are staggered: Council Seats 1, 2, and 3 are up for election in one cycle and Council Seats 4 and 5 are up for election in the next cycle.

City Council MembersTitleSeat
Brian Butler Council MemberCity Council Seat #1
Chris CreechVice MayorCity Council Seat #2
John NicholsCouncil MemberCity Council Seat #3
Kent AdcockMayorCity Council Seat #4   
Katherine "Kaye" AdamsCouncil MemberCity Council Seat #5